Home > About Us > Board of Trustees


His Eminence Oswald Cardinal Gracias (born on 24th December 1944) was ordained a Priest on 20th December 1970 and went on to be consecrated  Bishop on 16th September 1997.  On 14th October 2006, he was appointed as Archbishop of Bombay by Pope Benedict XVI.  In  2007, he was elevated to the College of Cardinals. On 20th February 2008, Cardinal Gracias was elected 1st Vice President of the Catholic Bishops Conference of India (CBCI) of which he had earlier served as Secretary-General.  In 2010, he was elected as the president of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India (having been the vice-president from 2008). Cardinal Gracias is also Secretary-General of the Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conference. On 13th April 2013, he was appointed by Pope Francis as a member of the group of eight cardinals to advise him and to study a plan for revising the Apostolic Constitution on the Roman Curia, ‘Pastor Bonus’.


Fr. Neil dos Santos – Chancellor of the Archdiocese of Bombay is a Catholic Priest with an experience of 12 years in the animation of community-based organizations at the grassroots.




Fr. Mario Mendes from the Archdiocese of Bombay took over as Director of the Centre for Social Action and Sarvodaya Capacity Building Centre in August 2012. Prior to this, he was the Archdiocesan Promoter for Small Christian Communities (SCCs) for three years. He has been a lecturer at the St. Pius College (Archdiocesan Seminary at Goregaon) and has taught Scripture, Social Work & Research Methods, Human Rights, Sociology of Religion & the Social Doctrine of the Church. He has a Diploma in Electronics Engineering and worked with Larsen & Toubro for 5 years before joining the Archdiocesan Seminary. He then completed his Bachelors in Psychology  & Sociology, his Masters in History and his Post Graduate Diploma in Human Rights from the University of Mumbai and his Masters in Social Work from the Tata Institute of Social Sciences. He has been actively involved as a core group member and faculty with the value-based leadership development program ‘Power to Lead’.